top of page

Cutting the habit -- and the poster

Jeffrey Wells called out a little edit made to Amsel's MCCABE & MRS. MILLER poster on the HBO Max page, and it gave me a laugh. Warren Beatty's cigar has mysteriously vaporized. Beatty now has his right hand raised in a zen act of Tai chi.


(At least it wasn't replaced with a walkie-talkie, as Spielberg did to the rifles in the re-release of E.T. some years back.)



I'm not going to feign outrage here -- just use it as an excuse to comment on something remotely Amsel related. I'd be something of a hypocrite if I did so, too. I worked a number of years handling promotional artwork for Warner Bros.' titles, and I had to do my share of digital tinkering to classic movie posters. There were all sorts of rules regarding what could and could not be shown.

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page