top of page

In honor of World AIDS Day, Amsel's quilt panel finally viewable to the public on Dec. 2nd in Ne

I just returned from yet another trip to the East Coast, having traveled through four states in less than two weeks. I managed to spend some time with family, revisit old friends, and film some additional interviews for the documentary -- the latter of which I'll be detailing here soon.

I was also able complete a very important errand before my return flight to Los Angeles. I handed the Richard Amsel AIDS quilt panel over to the staff at SUNY Downstate Medical Center, where it will be viewable to the public for the very first time, before its eventual inclusion within the AIDS Memorial Quilt in Washington, D.C.

I've long sought a proper venue to debut the panel, as most places hosting portions of the quilt did not have room for additional entries. I also believed that, since Amsel spent the majority of his adult years and career in New York, it was only be fitting to present the panel there.

Honoring World AIDS Day on Sunday, Dec. 1st, the display will be held on Monday, Dec. 2nd, at:

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

394 Lenox Rd.

Brooklyn, NY 11203

Coincidentally, Dec. 4th marks what would have been Richard Amsel's 72nd birthday.

I'll be posting more information in the days leading up to December.

For more information on the AIDS Memorial Quilt and the Names Project, go to www.aidsquilt.org

I'm indebted to R. Schuyler Hooke and Amy Urquhart, of the Department of Student Life at the SUNY Downstate Medical Center, for their kind assistance in making this display happen.

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page