top of page

Mean Streets


Almost a year to the day after my last trip in 2016, I was back on a plane headed for the East Coast. (As fate would have it, I did indeed fly United Airlines -- a rather cruelly funny coincidence given recent events. But I digress...) This visit, however, was far more personal, as I'm also dealing with an ill family member. Nevertheless, I've been able to do another round of interviews...and I can't wait to discuss them in more detail upon my return to California.


New York is a magnificent place to visit, but also challenging to navigate. I grew up primarily in northern New Jersey, and worked two internships in Manhattan many, many moons ago. But after all these years, still I feel like a fish out of water. NYC is a very different place from when I left it, and I've become a very different person in the years since. Perhaps I've been in LA too long.


Above: The Empire State Building, half shrouded in evening fog.


NYC is really a city for the young, mobile, and rich. I'm none of those, and am just not used to this kind of environment anymore. I love it, but it'd be easier if I had more money in my wallet and fewer inches around my waist.


Rarely have I been so exhausted. A film crew of one, lugging around his camera, tripod, and light equipment for at least ten miles. Or at least it felt that way. It's also a wake up call when you discover parking your rental jeep for three and a half hours can set you back nearly fifty freaking bucks.


But in other ways, I feel invigorated. I've met some incredible people, and some exciting things are being set up for the future -- stuff that makes me feel like I'm soaring over the moon. I'll just have to bite my tongue for now.


Above: My camera setup within my hotel room, prepping for a time-lapse video.


Some of the location shooting involved a visit to Chelsea, and David Edward Byrd's former studio on 17th Street:


While lugging my stuff around, I came across the Chisholm Larsson Gallery and decided to look inside. To my surprise I found Amsel's poster for FORMERLY THE HARLETTES framed on the wall. I spoke briefly with Robert Chisholm, who was kind enough to give a few impromptu words on the poster and Amsel's work. Goes to show Amsel's enduring legacy after all these years.


I also was able to reconnect with my cousin Katie, whom I had not seen in over two years. She just moved into a cute apartment in Queens, and shares it with her longtime companion, a 15 year old dog named Gizmo. They graciously let me crash at their place for a night, which was a nice relief from the noise and bustle of Manhattan.




Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon

Website designed and maintained by Adam McDaniel. All featured photographs, reproductions, and scans of Richard Amsel's artwork are presented here via Fair Use Laws, for the purposes of educational insight, historical analysis, and creative criticism, and are not intended to infringe on any copyrights; images came from either the public domain, my own personal research and scans, or were expressly provided to me for inclusion on this site. All original content, including writing and commentary, including the article "The Art & Artistry of Richard Amsel: American Illustrator" © 2008, 2020 by Adam McDaniel. All rights reserved, and registered with the Writers Guild of America. The documentary "AMSEL: ILLUSTRATOR OF THE LOST ART", the book "RICHARD AMSEL", and Amsel's work as featured in this website are through an exclusive agreement with the Richard Amsel estate.

bottom of page