top of page

The OTHER woman in gold...

Years ago, Richard Amsel's friend Michael Danahy relayed a story to me regarding a Barbra Streisand portrait Amsel had painted in the style of Gustav Klimt -- which was stolen while on exhibit at the Philadelphia Art College. "The painting was gorgeous," he said. "I was shocked when I found out, and I asked Richard if he was okay. I thought he'd be so upset, but instead he laughed ... he was compensated $147,000, and was thrilled! He told me, 'God, I hope they don't find it, otherwise I might have to give all that money back!'"

It's been over forty years since that painting's whereabouts were last known...but now I'm happy to say it has been found by an avid art collector, and remains in great condition -- as the following photo proves:

UPDATE: I can confirm this work is dated 1972.

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page