top of page

VANGELIS (1943-2022)

Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou, known professionally as Vangelis, left our world May 17th. I was crushed by the news.

No other musician has ever touched my heart and soul, or inspired my imagination, as much as this Greek composer did. He was a one-man symphony, often composing, arranging, and performing every sound himself. So astonishing was his music that many pieces you'd swear had been performed by a full orchestra and chorus (!!!) were actually entirely synthesized -- and often improvised.


I've spent literally thousands of hours listening to his music throughout my life. I was introduced to his work, like so many others, through his film scores to CHARIOTS OF FIRE and BLADE RUNNER. I later would listen endlessly to albums such as OPERA SAUVAGE, HEAVEN & HELL (featured so memorably in the TV series COSMOS), MASK, EL GRECIO, RHAPSODIES, MYTHODEA...and other film scores like MISSING, ANTARCTICA, THE BOUNTY, 1492, and ALEXANDER. He was a very private man, and particularly controlling in what work was made available to the public. Some of his most stirring compositions were never commercially released -- leading me to spend a small fortune over the years, as I amassed a collection of bootleg and limited edition recordings.


When John Lennon died, I was far too young to appreciate the loss. I came to know his music as I grew older. Vangelis, however, I loved ever since I was 9. His work was such a part of my life, and inspired me as much as the movies.


I just can't grasp the concept that we'll never hear new music from him again. I always hoped to see him perform in person one day. Another dream bites the dust. I haven't felt such an aching loss over the death of an artist since Stanley Kubrick's passing in 1999.


I recently bought a catalog book of some of Vangelis' artwork -- the man was a prolific painter, too -- and he had signed it. Holding the book may be a poor substitute for meeting the man, or hearing his music performed live, but it will have to be enough under the circumstances.



Blog Archive
Search By Tags

Website designed and maintained by Adam McDaniel. All original writing, illustration, and artwork featured within this website (unless otherwise noted) copyright © 2020 by Adam McDaniel. All rights reserved. Images (in whole or part) may not be downloaded, copied, linked to, or edited in any manner or form for use on any website, image gallery, clipart collection, printed product, or other derivative uses without express written permission from the artist, unless it is for the purpose of critical reviews or commentary.

bottom of page