top of page

STANLEY KUBRICK art tribute in Burbank!

This Saturday, Sept. 2nd will mark the opening of THROUGH THE MIND'S EYE: A GROUP ART TRIBUTE TO STANLEY KUBRICK, hosted by Creature Features in Burbank, CA. ​


The Shining, A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Barry Lyndon, Dr. Strangelove, Eyes Wide Shut, Paths of Glory, Full Metal Jacket, Spartacus, Lolita, The Killing.


Stanley Kubrick's effect on genre film has been as influential as his effect on film as a whole - and that effect has been staggering, with Kubrick one of the most studied and critically lauded filmmakers in the medium's history.


This September, Creature Features goes THROUGH THE MIND'S EYE for a new group art show paying tribute to this cinematic master, featuring dozens of artists from the worlds of film, animation, and fine art celebrating Kubrick's entire career.


Opening reception is Saturday, September 2nd at 6pm - 9pm. Admission is $5.00 and includes refreshments.

I did a piece for PATHS OF GLORY, which is one of Kubrick's best films, and was the first one that really put him on the map. (I originally hoped to do a piece for 2001, but that was already well represented in the show.)I did the painting in thin washes of gouache over a black and white underpainting to make it look washed out and desaturated. In retrospect, I think it would have been more effective had I kept it without color entirely.


PATHS OF GLORY

Gouache on paper

30 x 11 1/2" ​


While I've had two shows of my art featured recently at Warner Bros., this is the first time in six years I've participated in a public gallery show. It's also the first painting I've done in 2 years, and was a nice "warm up" for more projects to come....

Blog Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page